» » Ensiferum - One Man Army [Deluxe Edition] (2015)

Information of news
  • Author: avelin
  • Date: 20-02-2015, 20:30
20-02-2015, 20:30

Ensiferum - One Man Army [Deluxe Edition] (2015)

Category: Music

Ensiferum - One Man Army [Deluxe Edition] (2015)

Ensiferum - One Man Army [Deluxe Edition] (2015)
15 Tracks | Release: 2015 | MP3 320 Kpbs | 44.1 Khz | Joint-Stereo | 154 MB
Genre: Viking/Folk

Markus Toivonen played guitar with some friends in a band called Dark Reflections which played mainly covers of certain heavy metal bands including Megadeth, Pantera and many others. Later on Markus felt that the band in which he was playing offered him very little inspiration and wanted to play something different. Markus was hugely inspired by folk music and also found himself fascinated about melodic death metal bands, like Amorphis and Dark Tranquility.
Then one day Markus asked the band's drummer, Kimmo Miettinen, if he wanted to play heroic folk death metal with him. Kimmo agreed. Next Markus and Kimmo asked their friend Sauli Savolainen, if he wanted to come and play the bass. Fortunately he said yes. Now they had a band. Only trouble was that the band had no name at the time. One day Markus was visiting Sauli at his home, when he found a book. A Latin dictionary. Markus casually opened the book. And from the first randomly picked page he glanced at a word. Ensiferum. Markus found the word fascinating and when he read the translation he got really excited of this word.

Ensiferum started it's training in January 1996 at the Pasila Youthcenter in Helsinki (the same place their earlier band Dark Reflections had their rehearsals). Markus begun writing songs in 1995, which he got finished later 1996. The songs were "Knighthood", "Old Man (Väinämöinen)" and "Frost". Later in the same year Markus lured Jari Mäenpää (at the time a member of a band Immemorial and an experienced solo artist) to join his band as a singer and a second guitarist. Jari came aboard with some great skills and excellent musical ideas.

Thus the band was no longer a trio, but a quartet. Jari proved to be a skillfull lyricist and wrote the lyrics on "Old Man". The two other songs required no new lyrics for Jari to write, because Markus had done the original lyrics on "Knighthood" and Sauli to "Frost". So Jari just improved them. Ensiferum had their first concert at Pasila Youthcenter in December 1996. Ironically, they perfomed just one song, "Old Man", which was the only song including finished lyrics.

Band Members

Markus Toivonen – guitars, backing vocals, clean vocals
Petri Lindroos – harsh vocals, guitars
Sami Hinkka – bass, clean vocals
Janne Parviainen – drums
Emmi Silvennoinen – keyboards, backing vocals


Ensiferum (2001)
Iron (2004)
Victory Songs (2007)
From Afar (2009)
Unsung Heroes (2012)
One Man Army (2015)


1. March Of War
2. Axe Of Judgment
3. Heaten Horde
4. One Man Army
5. Burden Of The Fallen
6. Warrior Without A War
7. Cry For The Earth Bounds
8. Two Of Spades
9. My Ancestor's Blood (Heathen Throne Рart III)
10. Descendants, Defiance, Domination (Heathen Throne Рart III)
11. Neito Pohjolan

[U]Bonus Tracks:
12. Rawhide
13. Candour and Lies
14. Warmetal
15. Bonus Song
Ensiferum - One Man Army [Deluxe Edition] (2015)

(All below links are interchangable. No password)
Buy Premium To Support Me & Get Resumable Support & Max Speed


Site BBcode/HTML Code:

Tags to an Article: Ensiferum, One, Man, Army, Deluxe

Dear visitor, you went to the site as unregistered user.
We recommend you Sign up or Login to website under your name.
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.