» » Amy Jo Johnson - Never Broken (2013)

Information of news
  • Author: gravita
  • Date: 25-01-2014, 10:33
25-01-2014, 10:33

Amy Jo Johnson - Never Broken (2013)

Category: Music

Amy Jo Johnson - Never Broken (2013)
Artist: Amy Jo Johnson
Title Of Album: Never Broken
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Cozy Life
Genre: Folk, Singer-Songwriter
Quality: Mp3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 40:09 Min
Total Size: 101 Mb


1. Bright Lights
2. Cracker Jacks
3. Lines
4. Relief
5. Monsters Inside
6. God
7. Julia Roberts
8. Self Destruction
9. Free
10. Blue Butterfly Boy
11. Dancing in-Between (Remix)

"Music and writing has always sat on the sidelines of my career. It was kept as a personal cathartic way to get through life. I realize now, as I get older, the true passion behind them and the never-ending book of life's lessons that feed the gravy and create their inspiration. I feel I'm only at the very beginning of this beautiful new career." - Amy Jo

Never Broken was created in stages through the past decade.

-- Free, Blue Butterfly Boy and Dancing In-Between, the last three songs on the album were first recorded back in 2003 at the Pavarotti Music Centre in the Mostar, Bosnia-Herzegovina. Amy Jo's multiple experiences in Bosnia started as a volunteer for Global Children's Organization in 1998, a three-week camp in Croatia creating a place to play for kids in the Balkan war. Amy Jo fell in love with the people of Bosnia and the country itself and has traveled back many times since. These three songs were recorded with her childhood best friend Johanna Rothfeld and the amazing Bosnian drummer, Tony Pesikan, whom she met while volunteering at the GCO camp. Dancing In-Between from these sessions was featured on the TV show Flashpoint in 2009 and has been remixed and mastered for this NEW album along with the bones of the Blue Butterfly Boy and Free.

--- Self-Destruction, God and Julia Roberts were first recorded in 2005 in Amy Jo's living room with long time friend Zuma Arechiga. These demos were left untouched for eight years, until the creation of Never Broken began. In the last five months these songs have been rediscovered and flushed out with additional bass, added drums and guitar then mixed and mastered.

--- Amy Jo recorded Monsters Inside alone in her Montreal living room in 2006. The story of her departure from Los Angeles and her personal journey to let go of the ideals and beliefs the City of Angels ingrained in her. Recently for NB this song has been re-hatched with music producer Zuma Arechiga. Taking the tune for a spin by adding drum loops, bass and piano. It's a haunting tune that is set apart from the rest of the album in tone and nature.

--- Cracker Jacks, Bright Lights, Lines and Relief are ALL new original works by Amy Jo. Inspired by life's journey and the fact that she announced a new record as a perk for her Indigogo campaign in the fall of 2012, for her short film BENT. Amy Jo claims she needed a fire under her butt to get back to music and lit her own match. Having said that these four songs are her personal favorites to date and reflect her new life of marriage, motherhood and getting a wee bit older. They were all created in her living room and in her buddy Matt Segriffs cozy garage studio.

All songs were mixed by Jared Kuemper from Pirate Studios in Toronto Ontario. This process was over seen by the award winning Ari Posner and then mastered by Phil Demetro




Site BBcode/HTML Code:
Dear visitor, you went to the site as unregistered user.
We recommend you Sign up or Login to website under your name.
Would you like to leave your comment? Please Login to your account to leave comments. Don't have an account? You can create a free account now.